I Forge Iron

complete beginner needs help

Hello fellas,

I am completely new, have no experience except for a metal shop class that was taken in high school over 10 years ago!  I have heard about people learning from books, I just have no clue what books to start with I don't 100% trust the things I see on you tube and some websites.  I am also going back and forth on building or buying a forge and would love some help on that! My father mentioned to me that some relatives have dabbled in the craft and I am extremely excited to get started I just need some trust worthy sources to help me in the right direction. 

I greatly appreciate any and all help!!

Check out the jabod threads. That's the cheapest and easiest forge to build. As far as instruction. Go to the ABANA website and look at the blacksmithing basic curriculum. There's a list of good YouTube videos in the reference section here also. Good luck and remember it's supposed to be fun.

Pnut

Like Steve said. Go to the home page>solid fuel forges> Just a box of dirt ( jabod) forge. There's a few of them. If you take a little bit and look through all the different forums here it'll make it easier to navigate later. Don't use the search engine here. Go to Google or Bing and type in what you're looking for followed by iforgeiron.

Pnut

The side blast 55 forge is also a good forge. Don’t look at the Simple side draft forge so much as a blue print but as a design philosophy. Any kind of table that will bring the top of any kind of container to your working hight ( 30” for me) fill it with any mineral soil, heat risist rock or brick leaving a fire bowl with a 3/4” schedule 40 pipe tuyere 4-5” below the hearth (top of the box) a couple of “ of dirt or brick to protect the bottom of the box... 

simple. Box can be an old changing table, 55 drum cut either way, a pipe or bricks on a coffee table, an adobe brick pedestal, brick pedestal, cob mound, crib and ruble box etc.