I Forge Iron

Bader Grinders

I have decided on a Bader Grinder.  Questions:  I am an amateur smith and a beginning knife smith.  As I understand it, Bader builds a 1 hp, a 1.5 hp, and a 2 hp model.  And, there appears to be a wide variety of wheels, platforms, etc.  Looking or advice on what to get, plus some suggestions on what belts i should get, as a starter kit.  HELP!

Well since we know exactly what you want to be using it/them for; it is easy to suggest buying one of each!

As some on starting out I would go with a lesser/cheaper belt grinder and save a bit from everything you make on it that sells and by the time you accumulate enough to want a top of the line grinder you will KNOW what type and what accessories.

For instance I worked under a swordmaker that used a 10" contact wheel for flat grinding (sold swords for thousands of dollars back in the 1980's!)  Most folk I know in the business use a flat platten.

Bader grinders are top of the line industrial machinery!  They have a variety selection of belts that you can buy as a package.  I think it runs about $184. I recently bought one  that they had donated at the BAM conference auction.  Purchasing a kit like this allows you to try various belts and figure out what you like to use.  There are some polishing belts in it and different types and sizes of grits. 

I have a Pheer grinder that I am pretty happy with!  The Pheer runs about 1/3 the price of the Bader machines.  In no way is it the same level of quality as the Bader units... but it does my work pretty well and I don’t really feel the need for anything more.  Bader has sales people that can answer most of your questions.  My Pheer is 2 horsepower, variable speed and that is what I’d recommend.