I Forge Iron

What's the lifetime expectation of an anvil ?

Hello;

First of all; happy new year. This is my first post anywhere in 2019; and I wish you all best wishes for the new year.

Second; Today I was making wall hooks to hang stuff - I only had about an hour before we had to do the tour of every family member in the neighbourhood. Then I realized; I hit my anvil with a really way too hard hammer but I couldn't even change the scratch pattern. My hammer deformed and cracked.... Both my anvils are super hard high HRC 60'ies high carbon single block steel.

Then i asked myself a question I don't have an answer to. How long do anvils last ? I can imagine someone using something like the vulcan I used to have; that would have left a dent. If you were hammering on it every day; professionally; I can imagine something like a vulcan being swayed in a couple years; and probably not lasting 10 years in a professional forging workshop.

But I'm not a professional metal guy. I light my forge 3 to 4 times a week for a couple for hours each time. I make one or two knives a months if somebody wants one. Professionally I work in IT - Linux Unix-Cloudy-storage-licensing expert.

Still... how long do anvils last ? I cannot seem to do anything at all to my block of D2 (1.2379) hardened at HRC 66; and my skoda anvil basically has more rust issues than people using sledgehammers on it. I assume my kids (now 5 and 7 years old)  can still use them; but even older ? If they are eternal things; why do I see so many swayed and damaged anvils popping up on the local flea market ?

Suppose a 200 pound one piece tool steel anvil; hardened as hard as a file; one guy using sledgehammers on it all day for 20 years would leave the surface shiny and the foot rusted; and wear out a lot of sledgehammers; but the anvil doesn't really wear . so in this "golden age" of super steels; what's the life expectation of ahigh quality anvil ?

greetz; Bart