I Forge Iron

could use some anvil advice

i have the harbor freight 55 pound anvil shaped object right now. i used it once so far (only just got the forge running today) and i can already tell its junk. i knew it was junk when i bought it but i thought it would work ok till i could find a real anvil. now im thinking i need to find one sooner rather then later. right now i have a prospect in my view. Ebay link removed per TOS

its a 20 pound steel anvil but the 55 pounder jumps around on my (note to self find proper stand) so basically what im asking is is 20 pounds to light? ill mostly be working steel and would love a nice 300 pound behemoth but its probably best that i actually know what im doing before i start looking into dropping some serious cash on a anvil. budget is a big thing right now

hope im posting this question in the right area, im still learning my way around the fourm

• Replies 132
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

That's not an upgrade. Obviously cast (not forged), so I wouldn't trust that it is steel either. You already have a horn and hardy hole, so I'd recommend that you be on the look out for just a large hunk of steel from the scrapyard. A LOT better bang for you buck!!

19 minutes ago, boattlebot said:

and i can already tell its junk. i knew it was junk

Well we told you that. 

Use that as a horn and hardy hole for cutoff tools and what not for now. 

LOOK IN THE IMPROVISED ANVIL THREAD!  you will find that anvils are all around you for little to nothing. Got a sledge hammer? There is your anvil. Find a fab shop and go in and talk to them. They probably have tons of stock on top of having a large steel block to use as an anvil. All for almost scrap prices because they were already paid for the new stock. Scrap yard you can buy from? Use the TPAAAT. Know what that is? Look it up.