I Forge Iron

Student with Project Dilemma

Hi guys!

Brand new member here, just wanted to get some advice on an idea for my senior project. I'm not sure if this is the proper place to post this, so if it isn't, sorry in advance!

I'm a senior undergraduate student at UCLA studying Nordic Studies, and about to graduate. For my capstone project, I chose my topic surrounding ancient Scandinavian weapons that have historical significance behind them, having the the ultimate goal of analyzing their cultural impact through the years. A large part of my project is researching the process behind creating these artifacts, what tools and materials were involved, and what methods blacksmiths preferred. To get a good understanding of this process due to my lack of experience, I am interested in working alongside a blacksmith to create a replica of an artifact, all the while documenting it in a video.

My problem is trying to find a blacksmith who is willing to accept such a fairly obscure request. I've reached out to many people over the past month, and either they are located very far away from Los Angeles (like outside the state), or they are too busy to do something like this, which is entirely understandable. I don't want to scrap this idea at all, because I've always been interested in this exact topic the majority of my life. Would anyone have any suggestions as to what I should do, or where I should look? I need to finish my project before the quarter ends (June 13th), so it's a very big request :wacko:

Thanks everyone!