I Forge Iron

Beginner looking for First Forge Advice

AZBL

Hey everyone, so I am trying to find out what forge I should get. I am a complete beginner and just came back from poking around at a local open forge night (which makes me even more anxious to get started). My question is what propane forge would you all recommend for a beginner. I need to stick with propane due to living in a suburban area with an HOA. I found "Devil-Forge" online and the "DFSW" or "DFSW2" model seems to be a nice beginner forge for the price. As well as "Hell's-Forge" on Ebay which looks similar to the other forge mentioned. What do you all think of this? Any other suggestions/opinions are welcome! 

Check out the Build a Gas Forge attachment at the Forge Supplies page on my web-site.  You can build a better, cheaper, more efficient forge than those commercially available.  Couple the attachment with the Frosty T Burner instructions on this site.

Let me know if I can help you.  You can find my url and other contact info on my profiles page.  I prefer e-mails.

Wayne

Re: devil-forge, I think you'll find that the experts here at IFI rate them as... well, adequate.

Personally, I bought one because I liked the price, but I found that I needed to buy more wool, the brick provided didn't work well as a forge floor, and I would probably build a Frosty T-burner over using the one provided. 

Which means at the end of the day, I bought an expensive forge shell with a bit of ceramic blanket inside it. Your mileage may vary. 

8 hours ago, WayneCoeArtistBlacksmith said:

You can build a better, cheaper, more efficient forge than those commercially available.  Couple the attachment with the Frosty T Burner instructions on this site.