I Forge Iron

Why won't you GIVE me that anvil...

Latticino

Every now and again I peruse Craig's list looking for blacksmithing tools and equipment.  Lately I've noticed a lot of posts saying things like: I need to buy an anvil, cheap, because I'm an artist, student, have a young kid who is interested in blacksmithing, or am just wanting to try it out...  My area is relatively rich in anvils (compared to Australia for example) and usable anvils can pretty regularly be found for between $2 and $4/pound, and rarely for even better prices.  However, these buyers seem to be expecting that there are potential sellers surfing Craigs list or facebook looking for someone to buy their pristine 200# anvil for a couple hundred dollars.  I just don't get their logic.  Anyone who is competent enough to surf craigs list for anvils, and that doesn't take a lot, knows what prices people are paying for anvils locally (and that keeps going up these days, not down).  I can imagine making a good deal for a relative, friend, or fellow member of a smithing group, but a stranger with a convenient story?

The request is not just for anvils, but for cars, trucks, houses, toys, and what ever else they want but to not want to work for. If they spent the same time cutting grass or hiring out as labor that they spend on the computer or playing computer games, they could buy that and a whole lot more.  

The issue of giving is very personal and so are the motives to do so. However the ads on Gumtree or Craigslist for that matter, requesting free or very cheap are akin to modern day begging at best or a con from someone who only wants to resell for profit at worst. I almost fell for it once and realised it was not genuine when I saw another ad worded exactly the same way for a different item.

Sad really.