I Forge Iron

Intermediate Projects?

So I have been forging for about 2 years now and am looking to start moving beyond beginner projects. I have been doing a lot of bottle openers, fire pokers, necklaces, hooks, etc. I am feeling comfortable moving metal (almost always in the direction I plan for!) and finishing projects. However, lately have been feeling a bit stuck, doing the same types of things over and over. Don't get me wrong the practice is great and I am getting much cleaner results...

BUT, I am also looking to move to the next level. I am hoping for some suggestions on some more intermediate (or advanced beginner) projects that would be good to build the next level of skill. I am still trying to learn to forge weld in my forge, so probably not ready for projects that require that yet. Otherwise, I have looked around online, but not finding a good plan for where to head next. 

Thanks!

Gates and grillworks, the COSIRA books have some good examples.  Tools.  Depends on where you want to go with smithing.  Tools will get you into working different alloy with their forging temps and heat treat. Gates will get you into planning and building to plan and doing multiples and assembly.

Have you made tongs? How about hardware? Hinges and door latches are a challenge. Garden lamp and Tiki torch stands can be good built up products. This isn't a specific suggestion it's an example. Think of the Space Needle for a model. 3 gracefully tapered legs a top component and stretchers to make it stable. A small large disk one could be a patio side table a taller version would be a bird feeder stand, etc etc. Like I say just an idea of a way to go to make more complex made up products requiring a degree of consistency and precision in the components.