I Forge Iron

Anvil identification please help

Hello all new to this site.  I'm a beginner hobbiest metal banger (don't wanna call myself even a wanna be smith yet haha).  Right now I'm banging on a RR tracks and I, like everyone else, am looking for an anvil. I ran across someone that has one and it looks cheap but not sure. He said he would sell it to me for $50 and the only identifying mark on it is an extruded extruded "NO. 50".  I'M ASSUMING IT'S CAST BECAUSE THE LETTERS AND NUMBERS ARE IN FACT RAISED CAN SOMEBODY PLEASE GIVE ME SOME INSIGHT ON WHAT THEY THINK THIS IS? And if it's worth $50 thanks all

2978.jpeg

2977.jpeg

There seems to be some sort of writing on the other side, get a picture of that if you can.

Cast yes, cast low grade iron junk: 90% probability. A hammer will not make it ring if it is cast iron, but will if it is cast steel. A light hammer with a rounded face should not mark cast steel, but will obviously dent cast iron.

Try to get a ball bearing and do a drop test from 12" up on a clean spot. No powdery rust or paint, just wire brushed clean metal. anything less than 60% rebound is a no-go.

If $50 is a lot of money to you, it is better spent on other things if it is a cast iron ASO.

How are you using the RR track? Is it standing on end and securely mounted? If yes, you already have an anvil. 

Take a look at the threads on using RR track and other improvised anvils, and save your money for things you really need. If you're just starting out, some good tongs will make a world of difference!