I Forge Iron

stone types that can be used for polishing/sharpening

I imagine a few of us here have some high grit stones for sharpening and polishing and with me being the DIY nut that I am, I've been wondering if I could make my own honing stones, I have used basalt rocks that I just picked up off the ground, dipped in water and got a decent edge with it after using my synthetic no name stone. So naturally I started thinking about how I could improve this but I'm no rock expert, atleast not the mineral type but I know about some rock types found in Iceland, like Jasper, Basalt, some kind of sandstone, what I believe is Catlinite, Dolerite, quartz and Gabbro, has anyone here made or heard of these stones being useful for sharpening? I'm trying to find some very high grit stones so if anyone can tell me how I can tell if it's high grit or not and how I should go about turning the stone into a nice flat whetstone I'd be very grateful

Unless you have some Seda-metamorphic stone formations in Iceland you aren't likely to find anything suitable for more than coarse grinding. Various coarseness of grain marble makes good sharpening stones. Sandstone makes me think there MIGHT be suitable formations, I'd call a university with a geology department.

Frosty The Lucky.

There are two basic ways to grind a whetstone flat: against a flat abrasive surface (e.g., wet/dry sandpaper on a sheet of heavy glass or a granite block) or against another piece of the same material. The latter method works surprisingly well, so long as the stone isn't too hard. I've used it myself to flatten chunks of the local sandstone. It also has the advantage that you don't need to worry about stray bits of coarser grit getting embedded in the surface and scratching up your workpiece. 

A famed sharpening stone was novaculite,   I have a chunk of surgical black that is used only at the very end when you want to literally split hairs.