I Forge Iron

My first hammer head

AdamG

Just thought I would throw this up for posterity.  It's mild steel so it will be used for Japanese chisels (wood handle).  I tried to forge weld some W2 on the striking ends but failed... I'm just getting started and just getting my forges running (charcoal and gas).

i might take another run at this hammer head to clean it up, widen the eye, and maybe even stick weld some stainless or O1 or W2 on the ends.

I wanted to stick with the Japanese style, but it's starting to look more like the farrier style rounding hammers.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Good Morning Adam

Nice job! Soft Hammer for soft work is good. No need to Heat Treat.

Punch your Mark, date and weight into it. In 20 years it will give you something to smile about, "My 1st Persuader".

Look for a Semi or Gravel Truck axle. Ask at your local Truck Shop, they will have an old or broken one somewhere. They make great Hammers.

Neil

Ok, I finished it yesterday.  I cleaned it up a little dimensionally but probably didn't enlarge the eye enough.  

I used the oak board from the pallet my air compressor came on to make the handle, and shaped it with a hand plane and a push chisel.  Then a little 120 sandpaper and a blast with the bernzomatic and some tung oil.

There's a split in the handle though, which opened up when I burned it.  Hope it's ok.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

On 23/09/2016 at 0:56 AM, AdamG said:

Just thought I would throw this up for posterity.  It's mild steel so it will be used for Japanese chisels (wood handle).  I tried to forge weld some W2 on the striking ends but failed... I'm just getting started and just getting my forges running (charcoal and gas).

i might take another run at this hammer head to clean it up, widen the eye, and maybe even stick weld some stainless or O1 or W2 on the ends.