I Forge Iron

getting started supplies

I'm just starting out in blacksmithing with a basic solid fuel forge, hammer and an anvil shaped object, but I don't know what suppliers there are in the uk for metal and coal(or coke as I have heard that is good)

any advice to help me get started is much appreciated.  

Can't help with suppliers in the UK, but I have seen the new guys misusing the turm ASO. Do you have a lousy cast iron chunk of junk that is shaped like a London pattern anvil but sucks up the energy from your hammer blows like a sponge, or a largish chunk of steel that, tho it isn't shaped like the anvil of Saterday cartoons dose a good job of aiding your hammer in squishing hot steel into shape? 

A hunk of rail iron (train, crain or trolley) a drop of round, square or plate atleast 2" thick and long enugh to have some mass, a sledge hammer head, a large exivator/dozed pin, broken train cuppler ect. Is infact a serviceable anvil, not an ASO, an ASO belonge in your back garden. 

I have coke, many types of steel, wrought iron, tools and much more, if local call in.

also going to the wilderness gathering to trade this weekend near stonehenge, 'pig and Applestock' near naseby next weekend demoing and stratford on avon demoing in about a month.

which part of the country are you in?

you may want to add it to your profile to save people from asking

7 hours ago, Zeba said:

I'm just starting out in blacksmithing with a basic solid fuel forge, hammer and an anvil shaped object, but I don't know what suppliers there are in the uk for metal and coal(or coke as I have heard that is good)

any advice to help me get started is much appreciated.