I Forge Iron

Hammer Technique question

I'm sure my question will make it obvious that I am a novice, but here it is anyway:

Is there a good or specific hammer technique that will result in growing the width of steel faster than the length?

I have access to a fair amount of round coiled half inch spring steel used in the brake chambers on semi-tractors and trailers.  After straightening and pounding a length flat I ended up with about 0.9"  width at about 0.15" thickness.  I had really hoped I would be able to achieve a little over 1 inch width at that same thickness.  For short pieces I'm guessing I could upset the steel to some degree before pounding it flat, but hopefully one of you veterans has some tricks of the trade that can help me get more width from those springs without folding the flat pieces back on themselves and forge welding.  Please let me know if you can shed some light on this for me.

You can determine the theoretical width you'd get assuming no material loss to scale and no elongation by caculating the cross sectional area of the starting stock and the thickness you want to reach. If that width is not as wide as you want you will have to upset. If the math shows you can get to the desired width, then you need to spread the metal using a fuller or cross peen type hammer. A flat faced hammer will move the metal in all directions, resulting in significant elongation. A narrow peen or fuller can be used like a rolling pin to direct the metal where you want it to go.

Please forgive my ignorance, but I could use a little more explanation.

If I understood what you are saying then a 0.5 inch diameter rod could theoretically produce flat stock a little over 1.3" wide at 0.15" thickness.  Obviously that would be impossible to produce, but that's the limit according to the math.