I Forge Iron

Correctly heating iron

Ser Menalak

Hi guys,

So I have been blacksmithing for a few months now, only about an hour or two every few weeks because of school. Every time I run into the same problem and every time I tell myself it'll be different. I have a very hard time heating what I put into the forge correctly. Today I was making a hook from 3/8 square stock and at one point I burnt off the end. It seems to always happen. As such I'm scared of keeping it in the forge long enough to even get a decent heat. I have a brake drum forge so I typically have to stick it into the coal at about a 45 degree angle due to the edges of the drum. I am also using a hair dryer which I suspect is blowing wayyyyy too hard. When I took my blacksmithing course at a shop I never had this problem it seems to just heat the iron evenly and with minimal to no burning. Does anyone have some tips for someone with a brake drum forge (other than to get a real forge) to prevent burning but obtain a nice high even heat? Thanks.

You need to find a way to control your air flow.  If you are using a blower such as a fan (of many types) you need to regulate the flow with a blast gate (air gate), speed controller on the fan motor, an adjustable baffle or diverter, or any other means of flow control.  Sounds like you are running the air flow full blast.  If you are using a hand-cranked blower...quit cranking so fast!!!  :-)

I use a sliding blast gate (air gate) on my brake drum forge with 2" black pipe plumbing and only open it 1/4 to 1/2 to heat most things.  Rarely do I open it all the way.