I Forge Iron

Creating a large metal sphere

Matty mc

Hi everyone. Can anybody give me any information on where to start when it comes to forming two hemispheres, ultimately to make a sphere out of iron about a quarter inch thick.
I have a project in mind for my house that my little girl wants and I promised to make it for her. I am very new to metalworking.... I am a plumber and I always turn my hand to anything I think is possible, but researching this has made it look a lot more difficult. You guys and girls on this forum seem to have a huge amount of knowledge so I thought what better place to come. Researching on YouTube and google has come up with a lot of different things but I guess you need to know what to type in to get the right answers to start. Any tools/techniques/materials/processes would be muchly appreciated on this topic. Thank you very much.

Good Morning,

Anything is possible. Most people can't start grade school at level 4 and expect to appreciate getting to grade 12. What I am trying to say is, start simple, learn how to forge, learn how to move metal, then you will be answering your own question.

The problem with the internet is people want instant answers. If you don't put in the time, you won't know what you can or cannot do. Don't be afraid of making a mistake, it is not a mistake, it is a lesson. Learn from your lessons.

Where are you on this rock?? Post your location. There will be a Blacksmith group/guild/association near you. Don't be shy, we don't bite, become involved and you will meet the most pleasant and interesting people, regardless of what we look like. :) :)

Neil

How big a sphere?

1/4" plate is bordering on industrial for the amatuer, so does it have to be that thick.? or solid?

If it is just to be appearing spherical, then you could make it from segments and weld each together, this would be more manageable than trying to make a hemisphere from one piece.