I Forge Iron

Tig Welding an anvil

I have a chance to pick up a 130 lb PW anvil for cheap, and would like to turn it into a restoration project that I would give away to a budding smith. I read a lot of stick welding anvils here, and even hard facing mig wire, etc. I am not a professional welder, but we do a lot of mig and tig in the shop. Is there any advantage or disadvantage to tig welding an anvil? Is preheating still required when I can use the foot pedal to ease into the weld? I have missle rod and nyrod filler in the shop--what would be a better filler? So many questions!

There was a post a few years ago about a fellow who welded up the edges and chisel cuts in an anvil by tig welding spring steel 1095 onto the anvil. It looked great when he was done. I cant say I remember him ever talking about how it held up over time. Hopefully he will speak up.

Regardless of the type of steel used to repair an anvil it needs to be pre heated and post heated and cooled slowly.Some people will say they did not bother and its fine to weld on a cold anvil. They are wrong. Have some people had good results doing this? Yes I am sure it has happened some. But the majority of welding done on a cold anvil has caused cracking. Industrial practices call for pre heat and post heat on welding tool steel most of the time. 

Even though you can roll up the heat slower with a tig than stick welding the heating speed is still much to fast for tool steel.

I am confident in saying pre heat and post heat is mandatory 

Hello Cleetis,

You should preheat, and if you have a mig welder you might prefer that. 

Tig will work but it will be slow unless your anvil isn't in too bad of shape to start.

Some would suggest hard facing rod, but for simplicity I use standard mig wire equivalent to 7018 stick. 

I use the anvils I have repaired and built and they hold up fine, don't crack away from the fix and aren't