I Forge Iron

buying a stick welder

pkrankow

I am researching prior to purchase of a stick welder, and want to know what features are important. Specifically the DC function vs being an AC only machine.

It seems like Lincoln 225 AC machines show up on Craigslist for about $100 all the time, and stay listed for only a day or three. I can also purchase a brand sparkly new machine locally for about $270. The Lincoln ac/dc 225/125 machine is close to twice the money new and is not listed very often used.

Also I am a hobbyist, and really just need a machine for infrequent use. Much of what I want to do currently is building tools, but it will likely be used for other tasks.

I have been thinking about stick welding mainly because of price, but also because of how many different material choices can be welded, and the option of arc gouging.

Mig welding is also open for consideration, but are less frequently on Craigslist, and cost more new.

Purchasing a 125V machine has crossed my mind since some are down abut $100 new, and will not require a visit from the electrician to finalize installation of an outlet. Installation of an outlet will also cost a sub panel, but that will be required anyways when we remodel the kitchen and bathrooms.

Phil

When buying a stick welder you really want a AC/DC machine If can find one with variable amperage control you are better off. The Miller Thunderbolt is a great hobbist machine and has this feature. The Lincoln 225 AC/DC has rough set taps for amperage control so you are stuck with the settings that are there. If you can find a old Lincoln 250/250 AC/DC machine you will be very happy. They are a great machine and bullet proof. The reason you want a AC/DC machine is most electodes run on DC reverse polarity. I hope this will help you with out getting into to much detail.

Apparently I have a misunderstanding about gouging. I was under the impression that compressed air was not required, and it was just the electrode chosen.