I Forge Iron

Blacksmithing dissertation

i am a student at university and am currently writing my dissertation on blacksmithing as i have recently started forging last year after working with my dad in his steel fabrication business for a few years. i am finding it difficult to find useful information on blacksmithing, such as the history of it and useful facts. I was wondering if anyone had written anything themselves they wouldn't ind sharing or pointing me in the right direction. My tutor has told me to look at the 'crafts council' but i cant seem to find any information to extract or find any of the old copies of the magazine.

Any help or information would be greatly appreciated.

Thought i would post this at the top so people didnt have to read through all the comments -

Dear all,

Thank you all for your comments and help, i have taken them all in to account and had a discussion with my tutor. I explained my problems finding the information i wanted and what i wanted to write about. We have come to the conclusion it would be best for me to write about contempory forging and blacksmithing. I am UK based so would really be writing about things that would be relevant to me. But things that did not occur in the UK but are relevant would also be considered. The questions my tutor and I came up with are - Who is doing what? Who is the best out there?...Who do you as blacksmiths look to for inspiration...Who are your idols and why do you like / appreciate there work so much? And how and when are they doing it?

i hope this doesn't make things too confusing as i myself am feeling a little confused at this point in time, but i think i will be starting my dissertation again after writing 1700 words, because as a lot of you have mentioned, my question is too vague.

Thanks again for all your help, it is very much appreciated!

Edited by Iron Asylum