I Forge Iron

Small soft brick propane forge build

NicZa

Hello everybody!

I'd like to start of with a brief introduction since it's my first post; I've been lurking for a while and I really appreciate all the effort you guys put in to be able to have such a great and informative forum. I'm a male in my thirties located and from Finland. I've been interested in blacksmithing since my childhood and I finally bought my first forge a couple of years ago, It's an old 2-burner firebrick gas forge that I picked up for about 200€ (included in the deal was a brand new torch that I'm now planning of using in my build). So I'm quite new to the craft and haven't been able to forge as much as I would have liked, but now I'm trying my best to change that. Now on to the build and my questions!

My reasoning of building a smaller forge, and my requirements of it are as follows:

• I want an more economical forge for smaller projects
  • I want a more easily movable forge
  • My current forge is insulated with hard firebricks and I cant find an option to tune the airflow
  • I want the forge to be able to reach forge-welding temperatures (my current one cant)
  • I have an extra burner laying around
  • Designing and making stuff yourself is extremely satisfying and fun!

Current design and where I'm currently at:

IMG_20230927_131935_2.thumb.jpg.915925356d4be47b89257203e3f79d05.jpgIMG_20230927_131946.thumb.jpg.605d47eb1b100ea78c631ffa96a4d79d.jpg

The soft fire bricks I'm using are IFB-30 from Vitcas. I'm planning on coating the chamber with adhesive sealer and ziconium zilicate coating (also from Vitcas) in hopes of making the bricks more durable and more flame resistant.

The chamber diameter is 120mm and the depth is 230mm. I am going to reinforce the structure (once it's finalized) using a steel plate, angle iron and threaded bars.