I Forge Iron

VEVOR Anvil's

Okay looking at buy a VEVOR Anvil.  the Prices are right for my budget, but I worry I am going  to get a Lemon. I found a few reviews on Youtube.com  but as I am new to this and know next to nothing about Anvils, I am asking before I buy.  I am looking at the 110lb Anvil, On the Reviews it shows just about everyone stripping off the paint, and reshaping the horn, as well as dressing the edges.  The reviews roughly put it between 50 and 55 hardness.  Although they have found some Bondo covering minor casting imperfections.  most complain about the location of the Bolster hole, and most i have seen have to clean up the hardy hole with a file.  (i also seen the another review on here, and though the name is different, he seemed to have the same issues.)   So VEVOR, good anvil for starting out with, or do I avoid these?    I have a Harbor Freight Anvil, and already know not to use that. I am on limited funds, so any advice would be welcome.  I will drop a link to the review video i found as well...Link removed due to advertising

110 pound anvil.jpg

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

They sell both cast iron and cast steel anvils. Make sure to get the cast steel. It would be a huge upgrade to your harbor freight anvil. Yes they do need a little clean up. I just picked up the 66lber on a cyber Monday deal because we all need more anvils GridArt_20221201_164227584.thumb.jpg.718f6c5230a0af966cb8251ab288a0c3.jpg

GridArt_20221204_165022029.thumb.jpg.180925d6c56df94378c624a6586ca8c4.jpg

Hey Arkans. In our engineering group at a major oil company we used to say "I can get what you want fast, good or cheap - pick any two." The cosmetic issues that I have seen (admittedly, only online - always suspect) had nothing to do with the function of the anvil. The weird pritchel can be gotten around, but that is half the fun of smithing! Figuring out how to do stuff.