I Forge Iron

Newbie in Missouri USA

Shainarue

I'm super new to blacksmithing on my own. I've taken 3 classes to make specific objects. Each class was 3 hours and we used a propane forge. So I have a basic understanding of hammer control and basic twists and points, but I have zero knowledge of building a coal fire. 

I've done some scrounging and found a $2 hammer that I'm going to try to dress using advice from a YouTube video by Alec Steele. I have a friend that is giving me their railroad rail section to use as an anvil so that took care of a huge setup expense. (I still need to invest in a vice and possibly a hammer.) I have some library books on reserve so I'll be more knowledgeable about terminology and techniques soon. I'm following a few blacksmith channels on YouTube and saved a few beginner projects to work on. I've found someone local who offered to help me learn to build the fire and other tid bits at their shop. 

I'm interested in the JABOD forge to use with coal/coke. I already have a 3-ft wide in-ground brick-lined round firepit that I made about 10 years ago. I've recently dug a trench leading to the pit in anticipation of making it dual-purpose and setting up a section of it for forging. The trench was intended to hold the air intake pipe but maybe it's better to use the trench as the forge? (picture attached, pavers on top of trench just for safety until it's covered.) 

Everything I've read in the JABOD thread showed the "pot" as ending level with the top of the box, and then the coal pile mounded about an inch or two above the top level. With the depth of my firepit, the coal pile would be below ground unless I raise that portion up with bricks or something. Will it work below ground level or do I need the air above ground combined with the intake air to make it work? 

received_825371488447096.jpeg

• Replies 90
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.