I Forge Iron

First forge questions

Caleba

Hello, I am new to this hobby and had a few questions about how to start and build my first forge.

What would be the best material to make it out of? I narrowed it down to Plaster and sand mix, firebrick, and refractory cement.

Should I make it coal, propane or both?

What companies should I look out for for best quality?

Thanks in advance.

Find a fuel that is available in YOUR area, and cheap.  Build a forge to use that fuel.

A company will sell you anything you want to buy.  It is up to you to select the item YOU want and purchase THAT item.  The more research and reading you do, the less expensive things become.

A 2 pound hammer will do everything you want to do for several years.  An improvised anvil will serve you well for many years, or until you are have researched and read enough to know which anvil weight and style will work for the projects you are going to make.  

Good Morning,

I took an old Bar-B-Que, removed the Aluminum housing and made a V-shaped container that fastened to the Bar-B-Que frame with a 1 1/2" pipe laying at the bottom of the Vee. Use split bricks on the sides, add an old Hair-Dryer to the end of the pipe, drill some holes in the pipe. We used a reostat from the Hardware store to control fan speed, slowest worked best.  PRESTO, a wood burning Forge!! It doesn't seem to matter whether you use hard or soft wood, we used scraps from around a table saw. We were Forging, 15 minutes after starting the first FIRE. This is making and burning Charcoal at the same time. No Secret!!

Simply Mahvelous, Darrling!!

Neil

Basically you are asking: "I need to buy a vehicle; what's the best one to buy?"  without telling us if it needs to carry 16 people; or 16 tons of gravel. Does it need 4WD?  Should it be able to cross open water or even reach the international space station?  Hard to give a good answer isn't it?