I Forge Iron

New member introduction

ForgeClementRoux

Hi guys, my name's Clément, I'm 39 and I've been practicing blacksmithing and knifemaking for almost three years. Like a lot of you I guess, I began by forging my own tools (tongs, hot cutter, bending jigs, etc) and built a gas forge from a propane bottle.

I'm passionate (borderline obsessed) with forging, and I'm currently creating my own workshop to try and make a living out of it.

I'm self taught, so I'm always looking for new ideas, tips, suggestions.

I'm french, so I may make mistakes writing in english. Sorry ! :)

Welcome aboard.  Glad to have you.  If you you put your general location in your profile we can give you better answers since many things will vary with geographic location.  We won't recall that you are French.  (I am assuming that you are French and located in France but you could be French and located somewhere else in the wide world.

Don't worry about your English.  Your English is probably better than many native speakers.

If you are thinking about making a full time living from blacksmithing read all the threads on the "Business Side of Blacksmithing" here on IFI.  Running a successful business is an entirely different skill than forging metal.  Not everyone can do it or likes doing it.  Many people are good at their craft or profession but are really bad at business because they want to be doing what they love and dislike having to do "business" things.  Black Bear Forge has some good videos on You Tube about running a blacksmithing business.

Again, glad to have you here.

PS My wife said to tell you that she is 2d generation French.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand."

Welcome aboard Clement, glad to have you. You're only BORDERLINE obsessed? Amongst blacksmiths that hardly counts as interested. ADHD and OCD is pretty much the norm here. We may not stick to things very long but it's GOT TO BE PERFECT!