I Forge Iron

Dipped a toe in.... gas forge is AWESOME

Vinito

I have been piddling in coal forges the past several weeks. I'm really new to blacksmithing.

From a practical perspective, I figured getting into a propane forge would be handy and convenient. I can build one, but since I am ignorant of most of the ins & outs details of any of it, I figured I'd just start simple and cheap so I can spend a little time getting familiar with the process and arm myself with a bit of experience before deciding how to build a nicer one. Plus, just buying one would shorten the path to first ignition significantly.

So I decided to just go cheap and small and ordered a Mr. Volcano. It arrived today and I was up & running quickly. Before you jump on me for not assembling it right, be aware that they are now including a new ceramic blanket that is not such a health hazard sans rigidizer + refractory (it's called Superwool XTRA, so you can look into it if curious). Anyway you can still apply the hard shell if you want but evidently it's not absolutely necessary anymore.

So long story longer, I fired it up and I'm blown away! It was so easy to just light the thing and let it heat up for a couple minutes, get some metal into the heat and get going. I figured a propane forge would be kinda handy, but holy cow man, it's waaay more simple and quick to get hot iron on the anvil than I ever imagined. I mean I still like the coal forge, but for a quick project, I don't know how a gas forge can be beat in terms of convenience. I guess something with "free" fuel could beat it on that variable, but otherwise I'm a fan.