I Forge Iron

Mulling over an idea

Ted Ewert

I was thinking about a coal forge and how the work is often buried in the coal to heat it up. It was the surrounding steel with hot material part that struck my interest.

Here's a different concept. A coal forge with a ribbon burner in the bottom and covered over with alumina, (or some type of refractory ceramic) balls. Think of a decorative fire pit on steroids. 

Refractory balls are often used in furnaces to retain heat. I was wondering if sticking a piece of steel into a pile of these heated balls would be an advantageous way to heat it up. 

Wadda you guys think?

What advantage would you have over simply using a traditional gas forge? Being that it wouldn't be enclosed, I feel like the fuel efficiency would be pretty bad as a large chunk of your heat would get lost. I am no expert in forge making or thermodynamics for that matter though :lol:

You mean like the gas forges filled with mullite pieces that have been sold commercially for probably 80 years or so?

Plusses (fast heating of stock, less scaling if adjusted correctly), and minuses  (Like time it takes heating it up to working temp at the start.  Degradation of the media over time and use.  Cost.  etc.)  Generally you see them in industrial settings due to expense.

You might search on ceramic chip forge...

3 hours ago, Ted Ewert said:

I guess this thread is a mute point then.

Not so! In fact there is a manufacturer in England that has been building just this kind of equipment for use by schools; they have been at it for decades, and you can find out a lot more information on how to continue with your idea, and how many uses it has, by looking up there web site.

Thanks Mikey. I did do a quick search and saw those forges. I'd love to see how they're built. 

I don't think it would be difficult to build one of those. Has anyone here built one?