I Forge Iron

can this anvil be saved

New guy here looking for some help.  I'm just getting started setting up  for forging.  One of the first items on my list is an anvil.  I'm retired so funds are tight.  A gal I use to work with has this laying in the shed.  I haven't seen anything but the picture.  Is it salvagable?  My thoughts were to fill the chip with weld and then put a plate over the top.  Looking for suggestions.  Thanks.

chipped anvil 2.jpeg

chipped anvil.jpeg

Anvil repair is a VERY tricky business and not something you want to jump right into, even if you're an experienced welder. There are some good threads on the forum about anvil repair, and you should read them over before you consider taking such a task in hand. (You have read the "Read This First" tab at the top of the page to learn -- among other useful skills -- how to search the forum for the subjects you want, right?)

That said, there's a lot of work that you can do on that anvil even without repairing it, so long as the unbroken parts of the face plate are still solidly attached to the body. So long as it rings clear and has a decent rebound, paying a low price for an damaged anvil can be a great low-cost entry into smithing.)

Like John said, there is still lots of usable face and edge on that anvil. 

Check the rebound and that the rest of the faceplate is still solid and if so it's a user. I'd atleast use it as is for a good while and if that missing section is really hindering what you want to forge then look into repairing it if you feel the need.