I Forge Iron

First work of a complete newbie

Hi there!

I have never had anything to do with metalworking in the past and only wanted to forge blades when I began reading about forging etc. But my first project should be of a different kind because I wanted to make a special birthday present for my girlfriend.

So my first try was a rose after I had everything I needed.

I got an anvil from a retiring metal worker who closed down his shop. I got it really cheap (60 Euro for approximately 60 Kilos) and he never used it himself before so it was in good condition.

I built a forge from materials I do not know how to translate in english and use a hair dryer that "can blow cold" for air supply.

I also used a welding torch with a small propane/butane canister.

I also learned some important lessons about how to improve my forge and that working without the proper tools can be a pain in the ***. I really need some good tongs, proper pliers etc.

I had some problems with the flower, especially connecting leaves to the stem (which was nigh to impossible for me, I also had no flux so forge welding was not an option. I had no idea how to forge weld them anyway without burning the leaf)

Some of the questions I will ask in this forum in the future I think, but now to the pictures.

I presented it with two real roses as company in a small bouquet.

7728.attach

7729.attach

Thanks.

No, I had no idea how people use a torch for cutting such things out to be honest.

I bought some metal shears (hope this is the right word, I used a translation site for it) and cut it out by hand. The downsides were that it took long and I got some painful blisters on my fingers.

G'Day Meisenmann,
Way nice bloke ... :)

The from page of IForgeIron has a section that you can click on & the whole site will be translate into what ever language you speak Meisenmann , no need for you to go looking around at other sites

Dale Russell