I Forge Iron

Shop Help. Quest for Damascus

Hey Everyone! I hope I am posting this in the right place. I have been making knives part time through stock removal for about 6 years now. My goal is to setup the necessary equipment to start forging my own Damascus billets in different patterns. I know it is not an easy task But I'd rather try and fail then not try at all.  

I have been searching through this forum and I think I read between the lines on choosing the right equipment. Here is what I am looking to get so far:

Propane forge- I have been tossing and turning on this. Right now Chile Habanero is my front runner, 2nd Chile Cayenne, 3rd Diamond back forge 2 burner 

Hydraulic Press- 16 Ton+ press  from Coal Iron works

Anvil- I looking at Holland 140#, Holland 190# (Shipping get a bit complicated and pricey for this model) and lastly The Ridgid Forged 165#

Hammer and tongs- I have found a nice 2.5lb rounding hammer on Etsy from a fellow maker but I would love suggestions. 

Please let me know what you guys think. If there is any better products out there that I am unaware of or a way to save some money I would be happy to hear it. 

Thanks in Advance, 

Camillo   

I once built a system for welding billets for under US$25: forge, blower, anvil and basic tools. Worked great too I used it around 2 years as my primary billet welder.  I would highly suggest learning the process and deciding if you enjoy doing it before spending a huge pile of cash!