I Forge Iron

Which metals can be forge welded together

I have recently started making Damascus billets and in some of my research ive heard "you have to have compatible metals". I don't really understand what makes two different steels compatible for forge welding.  Mainly I'd like to know what I can use out of my scrap pile (since im a farmer with 4 generations worth of scrap). I have tried an old duck foot shovel, ( basically a hoe for plowing ground ) with a stainless saw blade. These haven't really been working and I'm not sure if it's my ability to forge weld or if it's the materials. Thanks. 

Welcome aboard Luckie, glad to have you. If you put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many members live within visiting distance. Working with an experienced smith will let you learn things in an afternoon that could take weeks or months figuring out on your own. 

Stainless steel has a high chrome content making it VERY hard to forge weld without using dangerously aggressive welding flux. By dangerous I mean you need to take special precautions against  toxic vapors dangerous in small concentrations with long term health effects. 

There are guys on Iforge who pattern forge weld stainless blades but they have years of experience. You can buy their books for directions and recipes though.

Getting started stick to steels without much if any chrome, spring steel has chrome in it but not enough to need special flux. You just picked an incompatible metal for your skill levels. Join the club I don't think anybody who's been doing this for any length of time hasn't tried things above our abilities. It's what makes things fun and what the hey, it MIGHT work.;)

Frosty The Lucky. 

Nickel makes for a bright line in the etch and Manganese makes for a darker line.  If you don't know the alloy content of what you have it's like handing you a glass of water and having you guess if it was potable or not...