I Forge Iron

Charcoal Forge: Laying steel plate or refractory brick on work piece.

MJTX

I built a charcoal forge and used it for the first time today. I have no experience and am looking for a way to harden some knives I made.

I stuck an old file in there to see what would happen and got it to a bright orange color. It wasn't uniform though. I laid a 1/4" piece of black, but very hot plate steel on the file. I took a look after a minute and the whole file was a uniform bright orange color where the plate was.

What did I do? Would laying a roughly knife sized steel plate or refractory brick on a blade help with even heating?

Some people put a tube or a piece of angle iron in their forge and that helps the steel inside to get a more even heat. This takes a lot of heat to do though. I'd just say learn some forge maintaining skills and if you move the blade slowly back and forth in the hot spot it will eventually get up to a nice even heat. 

IDF&C is probably right. It is very easy to be a little stingy with fuel when you first start using charcoal. You need about four inches of fuel on top of the stock and about three below in my last forge. 

Awrksmonkey is making a good point too. Most forges don't have a large enough hot spot to just lay the stock in and get it all to a uniform heat. Most charcoal forges can heat around 4 inches at a time so you have to pass the length of the blade back and forth through the heart of the fire. 

This is the way my lastforge behaved. Without pics and size of tuyere depth of firepot etc. it's a little difficult to give any more specific advice.

Pnut

52 minutes ago, Irondragon Forge & Clay said:

Pictures of your set up and fire will help. You may not have a deep enough fire.

Try not to laugh. Along with learning how to make knives and operate a forge, I’m learning how to weld. I cut the pieces from a plate I was using for a weld bench.