I Forge Iron

Critique my Forge

Daniel95

Hello,

I am a beginner smith and have some work to do. I am not super educated on gas forges, but I did some research and built one of my own. It is made of a propane tank canister, 2 in. kaowool, and 1/2 in refractory cement (Meeco's Refractory Cement, from Menards). I know that the cheap cement isn't ideal, but I am on a tight budget, and am no expert. My burner is made from 8 inch pipe, a reducer, a coupler, and the propane end (with nozzle) is from an old weed burner. It has a strong regulator built in.

I am open to any and all criticism, thanks for your experience and guidance. I can get some closeups tommorow if you would like. God Bless!

20200312_210816.jpg

How does it run?? a pic or two of the flame would be most helpful for everyone her to give an opinion and advice.

your forge shape is interesting, usually the flat part is at the bottom to give you a 'floor' to set things on. would be interesting to see how your variation works.

from what i can see your burner is similar in principle to a reil burner, depending on what you gas flow is like out of that weed burner tip it may work satisfactorily but the pics will tell us more. 

most importantly does it run safely? and does it get metal hot enough for you?