I Forge Iron

Hammer identification?

Allodin

Good Morning,

Looks like someone touched it up with a surface grinder, or, it is still new and nobody has radiused the edges yet. The Flatter will leave marks from the sharp edges, they need radius on all 4 edges and corners. Yes, it is a Flatter. It is used to smooth out hammer marks or irregularities.

Neil

Hi swedefiddle, yes i cleaned it up, it was in very rough shape when i purchased it. Just hit it with a scuff cookie.  Thank you for the help! I was told it was a old auto body hammer but i knew it wasnt since thats what i do for a living lol. Thanks again

Welcome aboard Allodin glad to have you. If you put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many members live within visiting distance.

Folks who don't know what a blacksmith's top tool is often misidentify them as body tools or special hammers. A flatter serves the same function as one of your planishing hammers. Our version of a dolly usually weighs better than 50kilos 100 lbs. 

I'm going to wait and see what a "scuff cookie" is before guessing. It might have been a perfect name for some of my little sister's early cookie making experiences.

Her first batch of baking powder biscuits came out beautiful darkish golden brown but were brick hard. Even the crows couldn't do anything with them after dropping them on a concrete deck from 30m or so. So, after watching the poor birds dropping and picking for a while the helpful lad that I am I went out with a hammer and crushed them up and the crows pigged out. They spent the rest of the day hopping around squawking because they couldn't get off the ground. 

It was years before she'd even bake Pillsbury biscuits let alone scratch make a batch. I can still get slugged for mentioning grounding crows. 

Frosty The Lucky.

Welcome aboard Allodin. I always recommend reading this to help getting the best out of the forum.  READ THIS FIRST