I Forge Iron

W1 steel cracking under hydraulic press

Jegphipps

Recently, I have been having issues with my steel forming cracks when I'm drawing it out under my Hydraulic press. My first thought was that I was forging too cold, so I heated the steel to the max temp that my forge will produce and cracks still formed. I tried this with W1 steel from two separate bars and the result didn't change, so I don't think that the steel was already cracked. If you have any input, I would love to solve this problem.

P.s. I'm new to using a press, so it's possible that I'm doing something I shouldn't be. If there are any techniques that you could share to help me, they would be much appreciated.

Welcome aboard... I can't help with the press problem, but I'm sure some who have encountered that problem will be along shortly. In the meantime, I suggest reading this to get the best out of the forum. READ THIS FIRST    It is full of tips like editing your profile to show your location (you never know how many members are near you that could help). Other tips include how to do a search and get the best results along with how to keep the moderators happy.

I do know there is a narrow temperature range W1 can be forged at. This from a data sheet.

"Forging of the W1 steels can be performed at 1038°C (1900°F) down to 816°C (1550°F) but not below 843°C (1500°F)."

Maybe tell what you are trying to make and size of stock will help, type of forge. Pictures could also help.

Hello, 

Maybe you are trying to do too much forging in one heat changing the stocks shape to radically to quickly?  Also hydraulic press dies tend to stay in contact with the stock for a longer period of time as compared to say a power hammer. Is it possible the outside of the stock is cooling down against the dies and causing the cracking because of the temperature difference between the center of the stock and the surface which is in contact with the dies?  

My first thoughts, hope it helps, have a great night,