I Forge Iron

Anvil critique?

I am brand new to the craft and am currently building my first forge.

What do y’all think of my anvil? (The sledge head is 10lb HF sledge; I am aware HF isn’t the best option but it’s the best my broke self could do lol).

p.s. yes frosty I have read the READ THIS FIRST post (oops I hope I didn’t sound rude there); sorry if this is in the wrong place-I wasn’t sure whether to put it here or in the beginners place section

85717F6F-420D-41C6-8997-2E541F3EFCA4.jpeg

Alright. I was not sure whether or not to do this because I read somewhere that if you do that you destroy the heat treat on the sledge. Also I know this is a little bit off topic but it goes along with the new forge. I am going to be using a JABOD forge with coal (anthracite now, though I plan to use bituminous once I can get my hands on some- I currently can not afford a membership to my local ABANA chapter). I am trying to save as much money as I can, and I was wondering what would work well as an electric blower. The current ideas I am debating on are an air mattress inflator and a hairdryer. What advice would y'all have on those two options, or other suggestions? Again thanks very much. I know y’all answer a lot of questions about blowers So sorry if I’m annoying you with this question, but I wasn’t able to find anything super specific on air mattress pumps.

Hey Nathan. no need to worry about ruining the HT on your sledge- you're just grinding or filing. If you're grinding, use a flap disc and kiss the sharp edges and feather them in. As far an your air supply, I'm using a recycled bathroom vent fan going into a dump valve made from a 4"pvc 'y'. One branch of the 'y' goes to my forge, the other branch goes to a sliding blast gate. I control airflow by closing the gate down (so more air goes to the forge) or opening it up (so more air goes out and away). The fan was free, I had the electricals and pipe fittings laying around. Works well for me.

Steve