I Forge Iron

Rust removal from very old butchering knives

An old friend has some very old hand made rusty knives for butchering a beef carcass.    They also have a couple of cleavers, and a rusted saw.  They asked me how to remove the rust so they can butcher a cow that has been cut up and has been hanging.  They are concerned about contaminating the meet by using rusted knives.   They thought vinegar could be used and then some steel wool.   

I have not been involved in knife making at all and couldn't advise them.  Any suggestion would be appreciated.  They told me that the knifes and cleavers and saw have not been used for at least a couple of years and that is why they are rusted.  The few knives they showed me appear to be a carbon steel, a low carbon steel and very thin.  

This is how I would personally try to clean them up. Others may disagree , and I'm not an expert so I could easily be wrong. 

First I would soak them overnight in vinegar rinse off the vinegar and scrub with SOS pads or steel wool. If that doesn't work I'd try sand paper or a wire cup. After they are cleaned you will need to oil them with mineral oil or other food safe oil. 

Pnut (Mike)

Are they handled and if so with what?  Wooden handles you don't want to get wet especially with acids as it will trap moisture against the tang.

Generally I use silicon carbide paper wrapped around a hard block to clean and smooth.  If heavily pitted I glue a thin layer of glove leather around the block and then the SiC.  If heavy rust start with coarse steel wool and DON"T CUT YOURSELF!!!! If you are not used to handling blades the chainmail butcher's gloves may be a good idea!