I Forge Iron

Anvil for building a power hammer, material question

Hello everyone.  This is my first post so thought I'd give a little background.  About 10 years ago I took a 6 week blacksmithing class put on by my local gild.  I enjoyed it greatly and acquired a nice anvil (late 1700/early 1800s Mouse Hole) and built a brake drum forge.  Life happens as it often does and I never ended up doing anything with them.  Now the kids are older and quite interested as well.  I am a habitual tinkerer and builder so have decided to build a power hammer.  I have a decent sized shop to work in and a mill, lathe, and shaper plus mig and tig welders.

Ok, long story short, I intend to build a Dupont linkage style hammer with a true disc style clutch rather than the tire style.  I acquired 2 steel blocks that I would like to use as the bottom anvil.  They measure 10" x 12" x 16".  Luckily they are stamped with the steel type on them but internet searches on that just keep sending me to nuclear reactor research documents.  Anyway, they are A508-CL2 (class 2) reactor pressure vessel steel.  They came out of the local nuclear plant when construction was shut down and everything was auctioned off in 1984-1985.  As near as I can tell these are forged blocks and considered NiMoCr steel.  Weight is in the ballpark of 550 pounds each.

I think they would work great for the anvil, what say the experts?

Thanks,

Patrick

IMG_5878.JPG

IMG_5879.JPG

IMG_5893.jpg

If you will be using a bottom die mounted to that it doesn't really matter.  If you want to use them as the anvil rather like the Blacker hammer does then you need to know more details on carbon content and heat treat.   Remember "High Quality Steel" does NOT mean higher carbon or harder! I'm sure you could get aerospace grade 1005 for instance.