I Forge Iron

Mystery tongs

Whiskeysup

First of all thanks to all that have responded, I am very new to blacksmithing, still in the collecting gear phase. It is easy to misinterpret words especially when texting(which I hate to do)-brief statements are often so.  Thank you Steve Sells for redirecting my post to the "Tongs" section-I did not see it as this was the first time on this great site. Looking forward to gaining skill and knowledge through the experience of forum members. Still trying to figure out what these tongs are for, wife said they are castrating tongs-a little worried why that was her first thought!

37 minutes ago, Whiskeysup said:

Still trying to figure out what these tongs are for, wife said they are castrating tongs-a little worried why that was her first thought!

Ha Ha. She may well be right! I would not be surprised if they have a veterinary use.

And I agree with Wayne. The tone of your response would indicate that you will fit in well here. Welcome to the forum.

I remember seeing that contraption before, a long time ago. Looks really familiar but can't remember what it is for.

It may come back ... or not.

Not tongs that's for sure, so it's in the wrong section. Should be in the mystery contraption section. 

Whiskey ... don't mind the locals, just do your thing. :)

My Daughter's a Veterinarian here in NM and nope they are not tongs for neutering animals.  If I had some time I'd peruse my 100 year old Sears & Roebuck catalog reprints. Unfortunately I'm booked till Monday night getting ready to visit my shop and forge at an SCA event and sweep the chimney at my northern house, etc.

Whoo eee! Thanks for all the responses. Took it out to the fence, couldn't figure out how to use it for tightening the wire. I am wondering if it was used for twisting wire, the shape of the points has me wondering. Also the longer of the "flats" is beveled to an edge. 

If I had to guess....