I Forge Iron

Blacksmithing...tales

I was sitting here wondering and thought I would ask, What got you into blacksmithing and How long have you been doing it, Are you self taught or did someone teach you. I am eager to learn and I know some of you all have some good stories to share and I would love to hear them, Maybe soon I'll have some stories to share. Thanks inadvance,,,Tom

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Started about 3 years ago, saw some blacksmithing websites and the stuff they created and decided it was something I wanted to do also. Build a brake drum coal forge, dident work out to well. Then made a propane tank gas forge, though I am kinda on hold until I can get my blacksmith shop built. All my projects are starting to pile up!

Family business. It was at one time used as a form of punishment. Got in trouble, then I was stuck organizing the metal rack, grinding/detailing welds, cleaning shop...I tried to not get caught at least!

Teenager years I was in and out of the shop, picked up some forging techniques along the way. After high school, I was offered a full time position, took it and went to college (majored in 3d animation.) College was finished and found out the entertainment industry doesnt pay. So 8 years of full concentration on this craft and attending various classes, workshops things are coming along nicely. Most of the projects now are traditional joinery and not the fabrication jobs.

From the gigs we get to the tooling we have to create to accomplish them, this is more than just "work" but something I am.

Got into living history F&I and War of 1812 first. Then started thinking, why pay for the day to day items, s hooks, fire irons, flint and steel strikers, etc when I could probably learn to make to make them myself.Most of my blacksmithing centers around the day to day items used by our 1812 group.