I Forge Iron

New side blast with water tuyere & bosh (pic heavy)

JHCC

The tuyere proper is made of 1/2” plate, making a tapered box:

3C1F0767-1271-480B-BA7C-EE420AEEEEFC.jpeg

The cap on the end is pierced by the air pipe, which is welded on both sides to prevent leaks. I spent a lot of time filling this with water, chasing down the leaks, grinding them out, and rewelding. I knew that I couldn't use any sealant on this part of the assembly, so all the joints had to be tight. Laborious, but worth it.

17377AFC-4EB9-46A8-80AC-FCA3605FF40B.jpeg

Here’s the rear view of the tuyere, welded onto the bottom of the bosh. Note the air pipe passing down the center of the tuyere.

E8BBFFC5-43A4-4B98-A591-15D68CC83F9A.jpeg

Bosh all welded up. (This was a real learning experience. One thing I learned is that I’m not very good at welding 16 ga.) I welded on a short section of pipe to act as a drain, shown here with a cap to protect the threads.

66955802-23DD-4C91-9641-4A4A771AE845.jpeg

The forge pan welded up:

15B50112-25B4-47BB-9F0D-D59976EDF838.jpeg

And the frame, which is made of bed rails and random scrap. Lots of bracing, no wiggle-wiggle.

80D2D023-9F2F-4725-8009-332087D2DB9E.jpeg

Bosh and pan in place. Note the integral tong rack:

36DE1E0C-D40B-41B9-BBDA-067A64908F8F.jpeg

Another view:

1CBA6181-6612-415B-B560-9EC1C1F2DE62.jpeg

Rear view:

CE11243B-A50F-412B-89D3-EE4CA0ADD946.jpeg

Air intake from the old JABOD. The cap on the bosh drain has been replaced with a salvaged pressure release valve from a water heater. This was also where I started to go a bit crazy with the silicone caulk, as the welds of the bosh had a bunch of leaks that I didn't want to bother chasing down. The silicone is rated to 400°F, and I knew that the bosh would never get above 212°F unless it boiled completely dry.

0E619CE8-B0F3-45C8-9A08-1EC34AC40DF0.jpeg

A variac (variable transformer) to control the speed of the blower):

5A1156C9-8303-493F-A9B2-C1916065E25A.jpeg