I Forge Iron

Gas Forge Design Progress - Critique please!

Jeff Tervo

I’m new to blacksmithing, well I WANT to be new. I haven’t started yet lol.

Anyway, I started designing what I’d like my forge to look like this past weekend. It isn’t finished as of yet, I plan to hinge the end doors so they open to the side and I will add a door to the side to hinge down flat.

What advice can I receive from the pros out there? Should I tweak anything? Also, what would be the best burner to use that requires the least amount of specialized fabrication?

6E323F18-6CF5-4C56-9634-CA43B85910B0.jpeg

Welcome aboard Jeff, glad to have you. You can be a new blacksmith. . .  I give you leave. :rolleyes: 

Have you checked out the Illustrated T burner instructions in the gas burner Section? That's as easy as I could think to make the things though I keep finding tweaks every time I build one.

I don't like that much threaded pipe on top of burners it has too much leverage and tends to knock the jets out of alignment. I use 1/4" copper tubing for the final fuel line between the burners and the manifold.  In your drawing the "manifold" would be right after the T in the fuel line. I put the manifold off to the side of the forge and lower to keep it out of the heat. I mount the individual 1/4 turn valves on the manifold. Copper tubing is flexible and doesn't have enough strength to  bump the burners or jets out of position. It'll take more heat than it'll get even mounted over a door so it's not a fire hazard. 

I put the main 1/4 turn fuel valve directly after the regulator on the tank. In that position you don't have to reach through a fire to shut the fuel off fast. Being able to shut the fuel off FAST in an emergency is why I put a 14 turn ball valve on the main line the tank valve can take several seconds to shut off even if you're pee your pants scared. Seconds can count a LOT where an uncontrolled fire and compressed flammable gas are combined. Yes?