I Forge Iron

Projects and Materials for a Beginner

I am going to the scrap yard today to pick up plate for an Anvil stand build. I am new to this, so I was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for beginner projects and what kind of metal I should be looking for. I'm not that concerned about making and having something. I'm more interested in learning the proper methods of moving metal as well as the best materials to begin with so that I don't get myself frustrated.

Repetition is the key to mastering a fundamental movement.

I'd start with a bar of 1/2" square stock and draw the end to a nice taper about 4" long.  Cut that taper off, throw it in a bucket, and start on a new taper.  By the time you have the bucket full of tapers, you should be pretty good at making a taper.  And when you look at them, you should see a marked improvement between the first and last.

Then take those tapers and put a flat on the big end.  Make it as nice as you can, rounded evenly.  Go through each taper, cleaning them up if necessary, and putting the set down and flat bean end on them.  

Again, by the time you get through the bucketful, you should see a tremendous change in your ability.

Then it's a matter of putting a hole in the bean end for a screw, scrolling the finial and curling the body to make a wall hook.

Do you need a bucketful of wall hooks?  Well, yea, but that's not the point.  Doing a repetitive exercise, always focusing on making every hammer blow count, drives the lesson home.  If you jump from project to project, always biting off more than you can chew, you don't learn.  You get frustrated and angry because you're not seeing results you think you should be getting.