I Forge Iron

Materials/Resources

Morsolum

I am just starting out with welding, forming, and other such things coming off of carpentry. I do have plenty of experience, but it was all resourced from scrap off a family worksite. I was wondering what kind of place I should go to for metal. I am not sure if I should use a contracting name to acquire pre-cut from a supplier or go to a yard (which I cant seem to find in Virginia beach). a 32"x1.5x.25 of steel is about 15$, not preferable considering how much that would take to craft a weave of 2'x3' for a workbench. I can cut the steel myself if needed, I just need to find a supply on "shorter" budget. Any suggestions anyone?

-On a side note

Anyone here ever made a table by weaving steel bars and working them flat and smooth, I fold the ends down and under for a nice curved edge. I also bolt the intersections, don't worry, I ALWAYS keep the working surface smooth and flat.

If you can't find or can't use scrap, buy your metal from a metal (steel) supplier!  The prices from a metal supplier are a fraction of the price of the big box stores and farm supply stores.  Most suppliers will cut the 20' lengths in half so you can load them in a PU truck.  If they don't, some guys take a hacksaw or battery-operated sawzall or angle grinder + cutoff disk to shorten the long pieces.

The last steel similar to yours, I bought from my supplier at about $1.40 per foot.  It was 1/4" x 2" x 20 feet.  They cut it in half for free.  At my supplier, you don't have to be a contractor...they sell to anyone.

It's the same in Australia. buying steel at the hardware store is expensive.

Then we have retail metal merchants like Edcon steel and wholesale like Waratah steel. Buying by the length is cheaper but cheaper still is to ask to pick up from their offcut bin. If you are only forging whatever you can find, the offcut bin is your lolly shop. ... :)