I Forge Iron

Aquiring tools

Hello I am a beginner bladesmith and am asking if anyone knows where to find good tools, and what tools are recommended as well as any advice anyone might have for a beginner like myself. I currently have two 3 lb hammers(cross pein) and a 4 lb hammer I also have a pair of flat nib tongs that close to about 1/4 in. I am starting out working with 3/8 railroad spikes. Any information , advice, or help is greatly appreciated.

Good tools can be found in many places: online blacksmith supply, antique shops, e-bay, yard sales, your relative's basement, flea markets...

As far as what you might need:

1. A lighter hammer.  For a beginning bladesmith 3# is a bit heavy to learn the required hammer control.  I would suggest 2#.
  2. Something to use as an anvil.  Lots of possibilities here, don't get fixated on a London pattern, you hardly need it for bladesmithing.
  3. Something to heat your metal up with.  Sounds like you want to do some forging, so you need to get up to orange heat at least. Gas or solid fuel forge is what most of us use.
  4. High carbon, tool or spring steel: railroad spikes are not appropriate for making knives with in general
  5. More sets of tongs to fit the steel and size of knife you want to make, flat nib are barely adequate and the stock will shift as you learn forging making control more difficult.
  6. A tank and appropriate fluid to quench in for the critical heat treatment part of the process
  7. Something to do final shaping on the steel after forging.  Good files and wet/dry sand paper at least.
  8. A book or two on bladesmithing, or some in-person training from a smith who knows the craft