I Forge Iron

170# Trenton Anvil Questions

Im looking into buying my first anvil and have no idea what to look for in terms of quality or condition. I have a chance to buy this 170# trenton anvil for 350 obo. Can anyone tell me what its worth and what shape its in? I have not seen it in person and this is the only photo availible.

FB_IMG_1463949348045.jpg

Sorry for lack of info. Im in Maine and there arent a whole lot of anvils for sale around here. When you say soft what do you mean? Im a disabled vet looking to take up blacksmithing as a hobby for something to do. I have zero experience or knowledge of blacksmithing or the tools that go along with it so any info and advice is greatly appreciated.

It looks good for the price. I've used a 250# Trenton for 35 years, and I like it. Trenton was one of the trusted manufacturers of anvils in the U.S. Doug Wilson is a smith in Little Deer Isle and the New England School of Metalwork is in Maine. They'd probably tell you the same as I did.

Anvils that have been in a fire can be "soft" as they can loose their heat treatment. You can do a rebound test on the anvil in question to tell you a lot about that particular anvil. Myself, I've always liked the lines of Trenton anvils and I'd happily pay that if it is in good condition.

Look up the ball bearing test though a lot of loose rust on the face could throw it off a bit.  Tapping it with a ball peen hammer will work it should bounce the hammer back up at you rather than a thud.  Trenton's are ringing anvils and that one sitting loose should TING with a hammer tap.  For that area a good price and may disappear FAST unless you have a solid deal on it NOW!

Get it before its gone. I have a hundered pound Trenton and love it!

Littleblacksmith