I Forge Iron

? about what kind of metal

I am new to all of this and trying to get my boys off on the right foot. I have a bunch of torsion bars from 4x4 trucks, leaf springs from diesel trucks, u-bolts, and a lot of old bearings from hay disk mowers. I just don't know how to find out if its good metal for blades. Any info would be great. 

here is my "any info" You don't want to hear this but I begin my students with simple hammer techniques like draw-out. They want to make knives like everybody, but can't draw 1/4 inch square stock let alone 1/4 round stock.

That is what I started with and could not make an S-Hook.

when the point arrives to practice knifes you can use most anything from the start. It won't matter the composition as the knife will be experimental. Get some quality steel for an actual finished project. Some like old files. 

if you read the stickys (threads that have been pinned to stick to the top of the page) in each of the sub sections, you will get the most important  useful posts of that topic,   If you ignore the pinned threads and ask a question that has been answered already in those sticky , don't be surprised if you get treated rudely. there are a hand full of questions that get asked for each topic repeatedly, so we covered them there.   We get annoyed  when people ignore the answers and people refuse to look for themselves.

We understand it takes time to settle in,  but you have been a member for almost a year now, start reading !!

The basic answer to your question is: Yes, No, Maybe---depending on information you didn't include.  So, much of that stuff will be useful in the future but is not  necessarily "learning material".