I Forge Iron

How would you shape up?

Smoggy

So many posts recently have reminded me of various aspects of this TV episode, So as I've not seen a link or reference to it here, I found it on Youtube.

I'll say no more than I recommend you watch it when you can find an hour, you'll not be disappointed.

(I hadn't expected other than a plain link, how did I manage that!!!!)

It scares me to have a hot cut in the hardie hole and a novice swinging a hammer. Removing the hot cut from the anvil is such a small thing where as removing a finger can be a major issue.

It is a well done program and presentation. The participants have listened to the instruction and taken it to the anvil to understand how the metal moves. I would be interested in what they are doing today with metal.

That is exactly what it left me wondering Glenn. It would be nice to know and even better if all three are cutting the mustard in the metalworking world in some respect.

Would I have shaped up? As a novice, I could not honestly say I would have.......after a lifetime of metal manipulation,,,,,I recon I could have scrapped through!

I must have tried half a dozen times to reply, but it never works...

I took part in the follow up series to this BBC one. The series I took part had the same presenter and same master blacksmith mentor, but was a Channel 4 production called "Real Crafts". The difference was that the Real Crafts series was about amateurs / semi-pro crafts people looking to take things to the next stage.

I asked Don what happened to the three from the Mastercrafts series, he said that Dominic went and did a 6 month apprenticeship with him up in York, then setup shop for himself. The lady went back to her day job as a museum assistant(?). I don't know about the other bloke. I also asked Don if the three of them really made everything themselves, he said they did.