I Forge Iron

Buffalo Forge restoration

Martin Mendell

I am very new to blacksmithing and recently acquired a Buffalo Forge which is stamped  pat. 1879.  I am looking for assistance with proper rust removal, paint color and any missing parts.  I have spent a great deal of time researching, but have yet to find a photo/info on the type of forge that I have.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  I do have photos available.  Thanks

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Here are the photos from the Buffalo Forge I recently received.

Sorry some of the photos are sideways.  Still trying to navigate thru the website.

I do have the blower for the bottom, which I currently have apart and rebuilding the fan blades.

I am looking for help in:  original color, clay line or not, missing parts etc.

Any help would be appreciated.

20151001_191024-2.jpg

20151001_191119.jpg

20151001_191318.jpg

20151001_191443.jpg

I'm not really knowledgeable on these, but i dont Believe they were originally clay lined and i wouldnt know about color but i've seen some with the pot and blower black and the legs and gears red but thats just some i've seen. could have just been someones repaint. 

like i said i'm sure someone else on here could chime in with more info. 

here's a question, Do you plan to use it or just restore it?  If your going to use it then make it how it would best work with the fuel your going to use in it.

Looks very similar to my Buffalo #3 Boilermaker's forge (21" x 27"). I just posted about it here: http://www.iforgeiron.com/topic/43858-how-thick-of-a-refractory-cement-lining-in-a-coal-forge/

Here is a 1906 Buffalo Catalog that  maybe helpful: http://www.vintagemachinery.org/pubs/129/5083.pdf

Here more pictures of mine to help you figure out what maybe missing:

DSCF2738_zpspfemj9bp.jpg

DSCF2731_zpsz7aebnnf.jpg

DSCF2737_zpshscr8qmp.jpg

DSCF2732_zpsr1kiqpgk.jpg

DSCF2735_zpspkplpg0l.jpg

DSCF2736_zpsplbkfdwu.jpg