I Forge Iron

Newbie: Where to start?

Hello all,

I'm a newbie here and I am dreadfully interested in setting up my own forge and getting started in smithing,first as a hobby but preferably more in the future. The first of many questions I have, I'm sorry in advance if I ask questions that have been asked many times, is where did you start?  Should I build an entire forge, buy a burner and build the rest, or buy the whole darn thing? After doing a plethora of internet research I have come to the conclusion that I am interested in setting up a gas forge to start with, nothing too large and preferably something that I could do a majority of forging on. Basically just asking advice based off of where you all started. Did you start as a hobby and grew from there? Did you start with a coal or gas forge? Did you go too big too soon, or was your's too small to do what you were looking for? Did you have trouble finding materials to work with? I'm primarily interested in bladesmithing but metalworking in general is sounds glorious. I am glad I found such an active community of like minded individuals with knowledge to assist in such a fabulous craft, especially local!

Thank you in advance for your assistance!

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. I'm on Vine Rd and can show you the ropes, I do some teaching. PM me if you'd like to meet up.

I can't believe I missed your post, I need to check my notifications settings. Give me a shout.

Frosty The Lucky.

Start with a visit to Frosty. Take lunch for both of you, and a cold drink or two. You will learn and see more in one visit than you can imagine. From there you will have a data base for which to ask questions. Find when the AK blacksmiths are meeting and go to the meetings. They have the knowledge you seek and are willing to share.

Oh come on guys, you live within reasonable visiting distance of some blacksmithing greats and confabs to die for. I'm just a hobbyist who spends time reading and playing with fire and hammers.