I Forge Iron

My attempt at forging an adze

I'm a beginner at moving steel, but have an extensive background in woodworking.

So I thought I would try my hand at making some woodworking tools.

First on the list was a small straight adze, next will probably be a curved adze.

I used 1 1/8" Cruforge V and a chunk of walnut I had laying around.

here are a few shots of my process.

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

Edited by Jspool

Welcome aboard J, glad to have you. Well join the club probably the largest demographic of blacksmiths until the internet started recruiting future addicts was the wood guy who wanted THAT special thing but didn't want to spend THAT much on one. Chisels, knives and plane blades are probably the most common "I can make THAT" projects.

Once you've experienced the soul deep satisfaction of beating the heck out of a defenseless piece of HOT tool steel you're hooked, no turning back.

Enjoy the addiction I do.

Frosty The Lucky.

Did you know Reed Oswalt? He's another long time inhabitant of the Rock and does a bit of smithin. I'd like to meet him face to face and Deb hasn't been to the Rock so maybe. I've been there on jobs but that was years ago. I'd like to meet Reed and shake his hand some day and Deb hasn't been out thataway so who knows.

Been searingly HOT here too, hit . . . 73f yesterday! :o 90s on the Peninsula is WAY too hot for the PAC NW.

Frosty The Lucky.

Thanks guys.  It's my first try at an adze.  I have made a few knives, and I tried to do a RR spike hawk a few weeks ago with a piece of 52100 welded in for the edge.  I totally screwed that one up, especially the weld! I use it to spread epoxy. 

Thanks Bigfoot,