I Forge Iron

6" flue for outdoor coal forge?

Hi everyone,

I've read time and time again that flue diameter should be 10"-12". However, the half hood my forge came with was a 6". I'm very new to the whole metalworking thing and I'm not sure how I'd go about making a half hood. Nor where I'd get that much continuous sheet metal within an hour's driving distance. Also, I don't have all that much free time, so as much as possible, I'd much rather spend it learning to forge than upgrading my forge.

My setup is outside and not meant to be permanent, so installing a side draft or similar is not an option.

Right now, I have the half hood set up with about 2' of flue, and that sucks up about 1/2 - 3/4 of the smoke depending on where I'm coking coal. I have another 10' of pipe and a tall cap (opening >6") I plan to install once I get some rebar to support it with.

Will I be alright sticking with a 6" flue? Is it just not worth my time?

I don't have pictures right now, but I can take and post some tomorrow evening if that would be helpful.

Thanks!

Are YOU happy with how it's working?  If so it's fine.  Are YOU unhappy with how it's working? If so it's terrible, change it!  I don't have a hood at all on my outdoor forge and haven't for 34 years of forging; sometimes I wish I did, mostly it hasn't been a problem. Your Mileage May Differ...

Well, I'm not happy with all the smoke I'm breathing in. I'm hoping raising the flue height will improve that, but to be more clear I'm trying to ask if you all think I'll see a substantial decrease in stray smoke by raising my chimney or if 6" diameter flue simply can't capture the smoke of a coal fire.

Edit: also I'm using a hand crank blower so I'm standing very close to the fire. Moreover I can't leave the smoke without stopping cranking

Edited by falsevacuum